A Few Good Days

It’s nearly the weekend! And it will be a busy one…

The hubby and I have been sleeping on a broken bed for about a month so we’ll be spending Saturday night building a new one. Chloe’s new cot has also arrived so we’ll be building that, too. I hope our flat pack construction skills are up to the job, but considering we’ve built shelves, chests of drawers, wardrobes and a sofa between us I can’t imagine that won’t be the case.

On Tuesday I’m going in to work to discuss plans to move me into a new role doing more involved web development work. A couple of people have left our team so it seems they want to promote from within the company first. I’m very grateful as this means the company must be keen for me to return and take on more responsibility. A lot of women don’t get that opportunity straight away after being on maternity.

I’m feeling a bit nervous about it as I know my skills are lacking at the moment. I know training would be provided but I’m worried I’ll be left to my own devices and not have very much support. The one member of the team I would have gone to with queries has left so I’m not sure who I can go to if I need help. I suppose I’m worrying about things that are far in the future. My (new) manager knows I’m not quite there yet in terms of skills but seems to think I have the ability to learn and grow into the role.

In domestic news, I’ve been having a few really good days in a row. The time seems to be passing more quickly for me now, though I still count down the hours before Dave gets home so I have someone to chat to. I nipped out to the Sainsburys this afternoon which was a nice little detour. Chloe was ever so good in her pram and just kept playing with her teething keys. These are all boring little tasks, I know, but they keep my mind occupied enough to stop me feeling that cabin fever.

I have one month and three weeks to go until I’m back at work. That’s a nice amount of time, I think. It means there’s enough time to savour Chloe being small, but it’s also close enough so I feel I’m working towards something.

I might do a bit of music recording this weekend. Yesterday, when I went to the mood management group I go to at the hospital, both ladies running the group told me I should do something for myself, so I suppose I must! I do find it difficult to take time for myself at the moment since I’m attentive to the needs of the baby and hubby. It’ll be nice to just be me for a little while.

Wish me luck for Tuesday…

Leave a Reply

