A Few Weeks of Internot

Hi all… It’s been quite a while since I blogged. I’ve been trying to reevaluate the role of my internet presence and how it affects every day life in the ‘real world.’

A couple of weeks ago a took a two week break from all internet activity except what was required for my job. Before this I was spending far too much time online, mostly not even doing anything fun or of value. It was like I wanted to absorb all the possible bad news going on in the world so I could somehow learn to become immune to it.

But no. I am a Caryl. I do nothing but feel for the whole world and all the birds and leaves and raindrops. There is no amount of incoming media that could fully desensitise me. All it did was make me feel stressed and helpless, rendering me incapable of simple household tasks.

So I took a break.

I did an awful lot of sewing. Specifically, I continued with my hobby of patchwork quilt making. It gave me chance to regain some sort of autonomy.

It’s easy to feel like you have to agree with everything you read online, if it sounds reasonable, even if it’s against what you think. I felt like I had to change everything I think so I could fall in line with whatever ‘right’ is this week. Of course, this isn’t at all conducive to being a woman of faith. It does nothing but make me feel divided and ineffective.

However, that small break helped me get some confidence back about how much I can trust my own mind. Turns out, I can trust it a bit!

Here’s what else has happened since my last entry:

MAY:
Moved house, meaning my little studio is now lying in bits/piles all over the spare bedroom 😦 Unfortunately this is delaying my recording tasks by a considerable amount of time.

JUNE:
Husband lost his job and most of his company, meaning I am also now looking for work!

JULY:
Went to see Perfume in London and got to meet them with Matt (yes, yes! I’ll upload footage soon!)

AUGUST:
Husband got new job that includes some training in something he’s wanted to do for years. Swings and roundabouts, eh?

I think that will do for now in terms of an update…

I have to focus on finding work now, so this week will see me reworking my CV once again and scoping out possible employment avenues.

Leave a Reply

