Restore

There’s nothing new
That we haven’t used
Under this sun
It feels as though
All the good I could do
Has already been done

Tell me now that I am wrong
Tell me that there’s something more to life
Tell me it’s ok to dream, dream

Restore, repair, repurpose
Break away what’s dead and worthless
Receive repeat repentance
From a soul in need

So tell me now
Can we find a way out
Of these circuits we spin?
There’s nothing but
This terminal rut
That I find myself in

Tell me now that I’ve been heard
Tell me there’s a purpose to this pain
Tell me I’ve done nothing wrong, nothing wrong

[Chorus]

Teaching me the seasons change
Keeping me in chains to bless these walls
Reassuring me of this…

You will
Restore, repair, repurpose
Break away what’s dead and worthless
Receive repeat repentance
From a soul in need
You will
Revive my heart’s desire,
These dying embers with new fire
(You are) Waiting to free your servant,
Hanging on your word…

© 2009 Caryl Sumner
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

